Shehbaz Sharif elected as Pakistan's 24th PM.

Shehbaz Sharif elected as Pakistan’s 24th PM.

Shehbaz Sharif clinched 201 votes while his rival Omar Ayub Khan got 92 votes in the session chaired by National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq. PML-N’s Jam Kamal took oath first.

SIC members protested, holding PTI founder’s pictures. Shehbaz Sharif had support from PPP, MQM-P, and IPP.

Swearing-in is set for March 4 at 3 pm in the President’s House, with President Arif Alvi officiating. Ishaq Dar, Hanif Abbasi, and Khursheed Shah submitted documents for Sharif.

Seven MNAs proposed and seconded Sharif’s nomination, while Omar Ayub Khan’s papers were supported by MNAs Gohar Ali Khan, Asad Qaiser, and others.

PPP and PML-N secured speaker and deputy speaker positions easily.

After PM’s election, National Assembly will choose a new head of state on March 9, ending PTI-backed President Arif Alvi’s tenure.

7 dead in KP rain

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *